Users (logins) and workspaces (collections of data sources, business logic and destination configurations) belong to subscriptions in Funnel. A user can have access to one or multiple workspaces. What features a user can use depends on their subscription and workspace roles.
There are two subscription roles: member and owner.
This is the default subscription role. As a member, you can
See and access workspaces you are invited to
Your workspace role determines what you can do in each workspace.
A subscription can have multiple owners. As an owner, you can
Edit billing information
See invoice history
Access all workspaces within the subscription
Create/remove workspaces within the subscription
See all users within the subscription
Remove users from the subscription
Add/remove users to any workspace within the subscription
There are two roles that determine what a user can do within a workspace: editor and viewer. The workspace role is specific to each workspace, meaning that the same user can be editor in one workspace and viewer in another.
This is the default workspace role. As an editor you can, for all workspaces you have access to:
Edit workspace details
Invite and remove users
Change role for other users
Create and modify everything in the workspace, including data sources, custom fields, exports etc
Viewers can access and see all parts of a workspace, but they do not have permission to create, edit, or delete anything. As a viewer you can export data to Google Sheets or CSV on demand, but not set up scheduled exports.
* The viewer role is only available for subscriptions with the User permissions feature.
With the User permissions feature enabled, creation of new workspaces is limited to subscription owners only.
Managing workspace roles as an Editor
As an Editor, users' roles can be seen and changed on the workspace's users page:
New users can be invited as Viewers directly:
Managing roles as Subscription owner
As a subscription owner, you have access to more powerful tools for managing permissions across multiple workspaces. You can find them under the Subscription administration page. Access it by clicking on Subscription on the top right dropdown:
Depending on what you want to do, there are several ways to change a user's role.
To get an overview of your users' roles, go to the Users tab. By default you will see a list of your subscription's users. To see workspace roles, check the Show by Workspace checkbox.
User roles across multiple workspaces
To change a user's role, click on their name. This screen allows you to control which role a user should have on all their workspaces.
Workspace roles for multiple users
If you want to change roles for multiple users in one workspace, go to the Workspaces tab and then click on the name of a workspace: